
As of Aug. 7, 2024, all CMV drivers must carry chains from Sept. 1 to May 31. This applies to 
vehicles with a gross combined weight rating of more than 16,000 lbs. used in commerce or 
as transport for at least 16 passengers (including the driver) on public highways.

On the above state, federal and interstate highways, CMVs must always carry traction 
devices that fulfill Colorado's Chain Law. In the event of any inclement weather, the 
following requirements must be fulfilled when CDOT activates requirements.

Straight Trucks: 4 tire chains, 4 AutoSocks, 4 tire cables 
0.415 diameters or greater, auto chains, or sanders.

Single Drive Axle Combinations: 4 tire chains, 4 AutoSocks, 
auto chains, or sanders. No cables are allowed.

Tandem Drive Axle Combinations: 4 tire chains, 4 AutoSocks, 4 tire cables 0.415 diameter 
or greater, auto chains, or sanders. If chains are on the 2 outside tires of one drive axle, any 
tire cable may be used to cover 2 tires on the other drive axle. AutoSocks may be used to 
cover 2 tires on the other drive axle. AutoSocks and tire cables cannot be used together.

Auto Transporters: 4 tire chains, 4 AutoSocks, 4 tire cables 0.415 or greater, auto chains, or 
sanders. Do not use chains if use places hydraulic lines at risk of damage (alternative 
traction devices (ATDs) may be used to mitigate the risk). Travel will be restricted if the 
vehicle is unable to chain.

Those required to chain 4 drive tires:

Those required to chain 2 drive tires:

Buses: 2 tire chains, 2 tire cables 0.415 diameters or 
greater, 2 AutoSocks, auto chains, or sanders.

Hot shot trucking: Traditional motor vehicles (such as pickup trucks) 
that are pulling trailers and meet the above-listed weight criteria 
must also carry chains. 2 tire chains for singles (to affix to rear tires). 
Exception: Duallies need 4 tire chains.

What Must
be carried?

Colorado's
"Must Carry" Law

I-70 west of milepost
("MP") 259 (Morrison to 
Utah state line) 
Colorado Highway 9, MP 
63 to MP 97
(Frisco to Fairplay) 
Route 40 west of MP 
256 (Empire)
US Route 50 west of
MP 225 (Salida)
US Route 160 west of 
MP 304 (Walsenburg) 
US Route 285 west of 
MP 250 (Morrison)
US Route 550 from MP 
0 to 130.

Fines include:

$100+ for not carrying
$500+ for not chaining up
$1000+ for blocking as a 
result of not chaining up
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Auto Transporters                                                Are required to chain 4 drive tires,

Penalties:
Not Carrying Chains when required - Fine $ 50 + Surcharge $ 17
Not chaining up when chain law is in effect (Statewide) Fine $ 500 + Surcharge $ 79
Blocking the highway as a result of not chaining up (statewide) Fine $ 1000 + Surcharge $ 157

Updated 08/22/2024

Auto Transporters may be restricted from travel if they are unable to chain due to the
risk of damage to hydraulic lines.

Tire Chain Requirements continued

However, chains should not be used if their use would place hydraulic lines
at risk of damage (ATDs may be used to mitigate the risk).  Auto
transporters may use 4 tire chains; 4 AutoSocks; 4 tire cables 0.415 or 
greater; and auto chains or sanders covering 4 drive tires.
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