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Permit Requirements

Colorado law requires that any person transporting hazardous materials that require
placarding under Parts 172 or 173 of Title 49, Code Of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), must
obtain a permit from the Colorado Department of Transportation prior to performing any
transportation of these materials in, to, from, or through Colorado. Additionally, both Colorado
and federal law require that no motor carrier shall operate a motor vehicle until the motor carrier
has obtained and has in effect the minimum levels of financial responsibility as set forth in 49
C.F.R., Part 387.

Questions concerning the regulations regarding the safe transportation and routing of
hazardous and nuclear materials should be directed to the Colorado State Patrol, Troop 8-C,
Hazardous Material Transport Safety and Response, at (303) 273-1900. Questions concerning
hazardous material permits should be directed to the Colorado Department of Transportation at
(303) 757-9539.

To apply for a Colorado Hazardous Materials permit, you must create and account on
the Colorado Oversize Overweight Permitting and Routing (COOPR) system available at
coopr.codot.gov.

You will need to provide the following information:
- Insurance
- Federal HazMat Registration ID Number
- Type of carrier (i.e. for hire, private, intrastate and/or interstate)
- The number of vehicles you wish to permit
- Vehicle Combination weight (over or under 10,001 pounds)
- The division and/or class of hazardous commodity(s) you haul

Application Requirements

All Certificates of ?Insurance (Acord forms), MSC-90, and/or MCS-82 forms must be
uploaded directly to the COOPR permit website (coopr.codot.qgov) located on the bottom right-
hand side of your Company Dashboard under the Upload Acord link. Once you have uploaded
your insurance documentation please allow our staff 10-15 minutes to verify insurance. Once
insurance is verified, you will see your insurance expiration date posted on your company
dashboard.

Hazardous material carriers are required to have a Federal HazMat Registration ID
number which is issued by the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
(PHMSA). If the quantity of hazardous material you haul does not meet their requirements or
you fall under another exception, please list the exception in Permit Notes when you apply. The
PHSMA website is https://www.phmsa.dot.gov/registration/registration-information or, they can
be reached at 202-366-4109/1-800-467-4922
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Insurance Minimum Levels

387.9 Financial responsibility, minimum levels. § 387.9 Financial responsibility, minimum levels.
The minimum levels of financial responsibility referred to in 8 387.7 of this subpart are hereby

prescribed as follows:

Schedule of limits - Public Liability

interstate or foreign
commerce with a gross
vehicle weight rating of
less than 10,001 pounds)

any quantity of a Division 2.3, Hazard Zone A, or
Division 6.1, Packing Group 1, Hazard Zone A

material; or highway route controlled quantities of
a Class 7 material as defined in 49 CFR 173.403

Type of Carriage Commodity Transported January 1,
1985
(1) For-hire (in interstate Property (nonhazardous) $750,000
or foreign commerce, with
a gross vehicle weight
rating of 10,001 or more
pounds)
(2) For-hire and Private (in | Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 CFR $5,000,000
interstate, foreign, or 171.8, transported in cargo tanks, portable tanks,
intrastate commerce, with | or hopper-type vehicles with capacities in excess
a gross vehicle weight of 3,500 water gallons; or in bulk Division 1.1, 1.2
rating of 10,001 or more and 1.3 materials. Division 2.3, Hazardous Zone A,
pounds) or Division 6.1, Packaging Group 1, Hazard Zone
A material; in bulk Division 2.1 or 2.2; or highway
route controlled quantities of a class 7 material, as
defined in 49 CFR 173.403
(3) For-hire and Private (In| oj jisted in 49 CFR 172.101; hazardous waste, $1,000,000
interstate or foreign | hazardous materials, and hazardous substances
commerce, in any quantity;| yefined in 49 CFR 171.8 and listed in 49 CFR
Or In Intrastate COmmerce, | 172 101, but not mentioned in (2) above or (4)
in bulk only; with a gross below
vehicle weight rating of
10,001 or more pounds)
(4) For-hire and Private (In | Any quantity of Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 material, $5,000,000

[73 FR 76496, Dec. 16, 2008]
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Insurance Self-Insurer Qualifications

387.309 Qualifications as a self-insurer and other securities or agreements.

§387.309 Qualifications as a self-insurer and other securities or agreements. (a) As a self-
insurer. The FMCSA will consider and will approve, subject to appropriate and reasonable
conditions, the application of a motor carrier to qualify as a self-insurer, if the carrier furnishes a
true and accurate statement of its financial condition and other evidence that establishes to the
satisfaction of the FMCSA the ability of the motor carrier to satisfy its obligation for bodily injury
liability, property damage liability, or cargo liability. Application Guidelines: In addition to filing
Form BMC 40, applicants for authority to self-insure against bodily injury and property damage
claims should submit evidence that will allow the FMCSA to determine:

(1) The adequacy of the tangible net worth of the motor carrier in relation to the size of
operations and the extent of its request for self-insurance authority. Applicant should
demonstrate that it will maintain a net worth that will ensure that it will be able to meet its
statutory obligations to the public to indemnify all claimants in the event of loss.

(2) The existence of a sound self-insurance program. Applicant should demonstrate that it has
established, and will maintain, an insurance program that will protect the public against all
claims to the same extent as the minimum security limits applicable to applicant under §
387.303 of this part. Such a program may include, but not be limited to, one or more of the
following: Irrevocable letters of credit; irrevocable trust funds; reserves; sinking funds; third-party
financial guarantees, parent company or affiliate sureties; excess insurance coverage; or other
similar arrangements.

(3) The existence of an adequate safety program. Applicant must submit evidence of a current
“satisfactory” safety rating by the United States Department of Transportation. Non-rated
carriers need only certify that they have not been rated. Applications by carriers with a less than
satisfactory rating will be summarily denied. Any self-insurance authority granted by the FMCSA
will automatically expire 30 days after a carrier receives a less than satisfactory rating from
DOT.

(4) Additional information. Applicant must submit such additional information to support its
application as the FMCSA may require.

(b) Other securities or agreements. The FMCSA also will consider applications for approval of
other securities or agreements and will approve any such application if satisfied that the security
or agreement offered will afford the security for protection of the public contemplated by 49
U.S.C. 13906.

[48 FR 51780, Nov. 14, 1983, and 51 FR 15008, Apr. 22, 1986, as amended at 52 FR 3815,
Feb. 6, 1987; 62 FR 49941, Sept. 24, 1997; 68 FR 56199, Sept. 30, 2003]
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HRCQ - Annual Nuclear Permit Application

Colorado law requires that no transportation of nuclear materials shall take place in, to, from, or
through the State of Colorado until the Colorado Department of Transportation issues a permit.
Nuclear materials are defined as highway route controlled quantities of radioactive materials as
defined in 49 CFR 173.403.

Nuclear material includes radioactive materials being transported to the waste isolation pilot
plant in New Mexico and radioactive materials being transported to any facility provided
pursuant section 135 of the federal “Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982, 42 USC 10101 et seq.,
or any repository licensed by the United States nuclear regulatory commission that is used for
permanent deep geological disposal of high-level radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel. The

Colorado Department of Transportation will not issue a permit until the applicant has obtained
and has in effect the minimum levels of financial responsibility as set forth in of 49 C.F.R., Part
387. For transportation of highway route controlled quantities of radioactive materials, the
minimum level of financial responsibility is $5,000,000.

Prior to submission of a nuclear materials transportation permit application, nuclear materials
transporters operating within the State of Colorado are required to obtain a motor carrier
identification number pursuant to the provisions of 49 CFR 390.19. Additionally, interstate motor
carriers are required to have a current year UCR registration.

Each permit issued shall be valid for one year following its issuance and shall be issued after
approval of the carrier's permit application and upon payment of a five-hundred-dollar ($500)
permit fee.

In addition to the permit fee, each carrier is required to pay a two-hundred-dollar ($200) fee for
each shipment. Shipment fees shall be paid online on the COOPR website. ). If a regularly
scheduled shipment is to be made, the carrier may make arrangements with the Colorado
Department of Transportation to pay shipment fees on a monthly basis or by escrow.

All vehicles carrying nuclear materials entering the state on the public highways shall be
inspected by a Colorado state patrol officer, at the nearest point at which the shipments enter
the state or at a location specified by the Colorado state patrol. For shipments originating within
the state, inspections shall be made at the point of origination.

Each person transporting nuclear materials within this state shall carry a copy of the shipping

papers required in 49 CFR 172, Subpart C, as revised October 1, 2012, and a copy of the
nuclear materials transportation permit in the motor vehicle.
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Questions concerning the regulations governing safe transportation, permitting, and routing of
nuclear materials should be directed to the Colorado State Patrol, Troop 8-C, Hazardous
Material Transport Safety, and Response, at 303-273-1900.

Permit Fees

Permit fees may be paid by credit card. If using a credit card there is an additional $4 credit card
processing fee. If you plan on purchasing multiple permits throughout the year and wish to set
up an escrow account to be able to pay by check, you may create an escrow account at
coopr.codot.gov and select Escrow on the left-hand side of your Company Dashboard. Make
checks payable to the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT). Please note that all fees
are non-refundable.

Single Trip Hazardous Material Permit Fee $25

Annual Hazardous Material Permit Fee (based on the number of vehicles being permitted)
1-5:%10

6 — 10: $25
11 - 50: $125
51 — 100: $200

101 — 300: $350
301 or more: $400

Annual Nuclear Material Permit Fee* $500

*In addition to the Annual Nuclear Material permit fee, each carrier is required to pay a $200 fee
for each shipment.
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