Permitting Information

#FFFFFF

Overview

The Freight Mobility & Safety Branch can connect you to the permits required to move freight on Colorado roadways. Our branch provides almost 30 permits for the transportation of goods movement.  All permits are required by law to ensure safety and efficient mobility are the top priorities for Colorado’s network of freight routes. Each permit is designed to ensure you are both an informed driver, and successful in reaching your destination. A few of the most often requested permits and corresponding information is found below. Additional information is located on coopr.codot.gov.

#FFFFFF

Divisible Load Permits

A divisible load is a vehicle or load that can be divided into separate or different parts in less than eight work hours or does not compromise the intended purpose of the vehicle or load, or render it unable to perform the functions for which it was intended.

Examples of divisible loads include cattle, grain, water, sand, etc.

Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible 2/3 Quad Fleet
  • Purchase this fleet if you need BOTH the NIOWD 2/3 and Quad annual permits. 
  • You must order & issue the NIOWD 2/3 Quad fleet ($3,000) prior to ordering the NIOWD 2/3 & NIOWD Quad annuals in order to receive the $35 fee for the annual. 
Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible (NIOWD) Quad Axle Permits
  • No oversize/over-dimension
  • Travel on non-interstate highways only
  • Vehicle or the trailer must be configured with a quad-axle grouping
  • Quad Axle - Any four consecutive axles whose extreme centers between any two axles within the grouping are not more than 96 inches apart and are individually attached to or articulated from, or both, a common attachment to the vehicle including a connecting mechanism designed to equalize the load between axles.
  • Cannot exceed 110,000 lbs gross vehicle weight
  • Must comply with maximums on CDOT Bridge Weight Limit Map
  • Single trip permit available with fee of $30 + $10 per axle
  • Annual permit available with fee of $500
  • Annual NIOWD Quad Fleet Permit available with fee of $2,000 and  $35 per permitted vehicle
  • NIOWD Quad fleet must be issued prior to ordering the annual in order to receive the $35 fee for the annual
  • Substantial fines may be assessed for violations
  • No travel is allowed on I-25, I-70, I-76, I-225, or I-270.

Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible Load Permit Fact Sheet

#FFFFFF
Open Embed

#FFFFFF

Non-Divisible Load Permits

A non-divisible load or vehicle is any load or vehicle exceeding applicable statutory size or weight limits which, if separated into smaller loads or vehicles, would compromise the intended use of the vehicle.

For example, the load or vehicle will:

  • make it unable to perform the function for which it was intended
  • make the load unusable or unsafe
  • require more than eight work hours to dismantle using appropriate equipment.

Note: The applicant for a non-divisible load permit must prove the number of work hours required to dismantle the load.

Examples of non-divisible loads include loader, bulldozer, crane, etc.

Annual Non-Divisible Load Permits
  • Overweight and oversize permits
  • Self-propelled and power unit and trailer combinations
  • Interstate and secondary state highways
  • Access the Pilot Escort and Restriction Map for mountainous highways
  • Applicant routes loads with online annual permit routing , maps and current restrictions 

Size Restrictions:

  • Maximum height: 16 feet
  • Maximum width: 17 feet
  • Maximum length for four lanes: 130 feet
  • Maximum length for non-mountainous two lanes: 120 feet
  • Maximum length for mountainous two lanes: 110 feet
  • Maximum front overhang: 25 feet
  • Maximum rear overhang: 35 feet
  • Cannot exceed 200,000 pounds gross vehicle weight
  • Must comply with maximums on the Bridge Weight Limit Map

Fees:

  • Annual Oversize (OS) Permit Only: $250
  • Annual Overweight (OW) Permit Only: $400
  • Annual Oversize & Overweight (OSOW) Permit: $400
  • Annual Company Fleet Permit: $3,000
    • Please refer to the Company Fleet Permits section below for details.
Single Trip
  • Overweight and oversize permits
  • Interstate and secondary state highways
  • Self-propelled and power unit and trailer combinations
  • Routing is stated on the permit

Size Restrictions:

  • Cannot exceed 200,000 pounds gross vehicle weight

Fees:

  • Single trip OS Permit: $30 
  • Single trip OW Permit: $30 plus $10 per axle
  • Single trip OSOW) Permit: $30 plus $10 per axle
Chapter 6 Special
  • Overweight and oversize permits
  • Interstate and secondary state highways
  • Self-propelled and power unit and trailer combinations
  • Access the Pilot Escort and Restriction Map for Chapter 6 width requirements
  • Requires a minimum of one pilot car in front and one pilot car in the rear
  • Routing is stated on the permit

Size Restrictions

  • Gross Vehicle Weight between 200,000 and 500,000 pounds

Fees:

  • Chapter 6 Special Single Trip Permit: $250
Superload
  • Overweight and oversize permits
  • Routing is stated on the permit
  • Interstate and secondary state highways

Size Restrictions

 

  • Gross Vehicle Weight between exceeds 500,000 pounds, or has a double dolly and is greater than 15 feet wide

Fees:

  • Superload Single Trip Permit: $800

Non-Divisible Load Permit

#FFFFFF
Open Embed

#FFFFFF

Company Fleet Permits

Companies with oversize and overweight permits for two or more vehicles will require an annual company fleet permit (CFP). The benefit is to improve efficiency for the company so annual permits issued expire on the same day.

Note: Carriers with a CFP must also order the appropriate annual company fleet permit for each truck they need to permit. Once the CFP has been issued, then an annual permit needs to be ordered for each unit.

Costs

The cost of CFPs may be another benefit for some companies. A CFP costs $3,000 for the first two to 10 vehicles, and $300 per vehicle for each vehicle more than 10. It is obvious this is not a cost savings for companies whose fleets are exclusively oversize since individual OS annuals cost $250 each.

It is also not a cost benefit to OW or OSOW fleets with seven or less vehicles because the renewal fees on individual annuals remains $400 each, or $2,800 for seven. It is up to the company if the uniform expiration date is worth the upfront costs of a CFP.

  • Costs for a Company Fleet Permit: $3,000 

Number of Vehicles Cost

  • 1 to 10 vehicles in company fleet: $3,000
  • 11 or more vehicles: $3,000 company fleet fee plus $300 per VIN over the 10th vehicle
Off-Annual Cycle Vehicles Added

Off annual cycle permits may be required once a company has purchased a Company Fleet Permit. A prorated fee will be calculated for additional permits added after the annual application date. The prorated free is based on a range of days that remaining until the next annual renewal date of the Company Fleet Permit, as follows:

  • 1-45 days to renewal date: no change
  • 46 to 92 days to renewal date: $75
  • 93 to 183 days to renewal date: $150
  • 184 to 274 days to renewal date: $225
  • 275 to 364 days to renewal date: $300

Company Fleet Permit

#FFFFFF
Open Embed

#FFFFFF

Longer Vehicle Combination Permits

Longer vehicle combination (LVC) permits allow specific trailer combinations, on designated LVC routes, to set terminals that are:

  • 10 miles or less from the designated LVC routes
  • More than one and less than three trailers
  • Has a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of no more than 80,000 pounds
    • To exceed 80,000 pounds, you will need to purchase the LVC overweight permit after you have issued an LVC permit.

An LVC permits allows the gross vehicle weight of 80,000 lbs. To exceed 80,000 pounds, you will need to purchase the LVC overweight permit after you have issued an LVC permit. 

Note: Refer to the holiday restrictions for LVC holiday curfew restrictions, and the LVC Curfew map for details. 

    Information & Costs

    LVC permits are applied for on the COOPR Permitting System. Refer to the resources for the required documents needed when applying. Refer to the LVC Informational flier for LVC permit regulations, trailer combinations, designated routes and maximum weight limits. To add weight to LVC, purchase the LVC OWD permit after getting the LVC issued.

    Fees:

    • LVC Permit (over-length configurations only): $250
    • LVC OWD Permit: $400 LVC Fleet Permit: $1,500 and $25 per vehicle

    When applying for your LVC permits, you will need to order your LVC permit first. Once it is issued, order the LVC fleet permit if needed. Once it is issued, you can order your LVC OWD permits as needed. Currently, there are no daily LVC curfews in place.  

    Holiday Restrictions & Schedule

    Holiday Schedule

    The Permit Office will be closed in observance of the following holiday days, unless noted:

    • New Years Day
    • Martin Luther King Day (third Monday in January)
    • Presidents Day (third Monday in February)
    • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
    • Juneteenth
    • Independence Day
    • Labor Day (first Monday in September)
    • Frances Xavier Cabrini Day (first Monday in October)
    • Veterans Day  
    • Thanksgiving Day (fourth Thursday in November)
    • Christmas Day

    Submit applications in a timely manner to ensure issuance of the permit prior to the movement of the vehicle or load.

    Holiday Restrictions

    Rules and Regulations for Transport Permits Section 404 Holidays:

    • 404.1: An LVC is prohibited from travel at any time on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day. If Independence Day falls on a Saturday an LVC is also prohibited from travel on the previous Friday, and if such holiday falls on a Sunday an LVC is also prohibited from travel on the following Monday.
    • 404.2: An LVC may travel on New Year's Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. However, if such holiday falls on a Saturday an LVC is prohibited from travel on the previous Friday, and if such holiday falls on a Sunday an LVC is prohibited from travel on the following Monday.
    • 404.3: An Extra-legal Vehicle or Load, other than an LVC, is prohibited from travel between the hours of 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. on Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day. When Independence Day falls on a Saturday an Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is also prohibited from travel on the previous Friday between 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m., and when Independence Day falls on a Sunday an Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is also prohibited from travel on the following Monday between 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m. An Extra-legal Vehicle or Load is prohibited from travel between the hours of 12:00 p.m. (noon) and 9:00 p.m. on the Friday preceding Memorial Day and Labor Day.
    • 404.4: In the Cripple Creek area an Extra-Legal Vehicle or Load is also prohibited from travel on Friday, Saturday and Sunday for Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day during the hours of 3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. on the following Highways:
    • 404.4.1: CO 24 between CO 67 at Divide (RP 278) and Woodland Park (RP 303)
    • 404.4.2: Co 67 between CO 24 at Divide (RP 70) and Cripple Creek (RP 51.7)

    LVC Checklist

    LVC Transport Permit Application

    LVC Information & Tips

    #FFFFFF
    Open Embed

    #FFFFFF

    Special Revocable Permits (SRP)

    An SRP allows a vehicle that would be required to clear a port of entry facility to not have to do so. Permits are issued by the Colorado State Patrol Port of Entry team online with the COOPR permitting system. To order, refer to the Special Revocable Permits flyer for more information.

    #FFFFFF
    Open Embed

    #FFFFFF

    IRP 72-Hour Laden Weight/Fuel Tax Trip Permit

    A laden weight registration trip permit should be purchased at the first Colorado Port of Entry facility if a commercial vehicle requiring apportionment is not apportioned for Colorado, but occasionally does business in the state. 

    • Permits are valid for 72 hours
    • Operator may make as many trips as necessary within those permitted 72 hours

    Trip and fuel permits are issued by the Colorado State Patrol Port of Entry team using using the COOPR permitting system.

    Note: CDOT only issues oversize, overweight and hazmat permits.

    Permit Fees

    Permit Fees

    Gross Vehicle Weight is 10,001 - 30,000: $60

    Gross Vehicle Weight is 30,001 - 60,000: $70

    Gross Vehicle Weight is 60,000 - legal maximum: $80

    Colorado Port of Entry Locations & Information

    Frequently Asked Questions

    #FFFFFF
    Can I purchase an IRP 72-hour Laden Weight permit or a Fuel Tax Trip permit at CDOT offices?

    No, you will need to contact the first Port of Entry location on your route. Visit csp.colorado.gov/contact-us/port-of-entry for more information and contacts.

    How long does it take to get a single trip permit?

    The Permit Office has a two-hour turnaround time for the issuance of Single Trip permits. We will not guarantee that applications received after 3 p.m. (MT) will be processed on the same business day. Applications are processed in the order they are received.

    The turnaround time for the issuance of Chapter 6 Specials (Superloads) is three to five business days.

    • NOTE: due to a shortage of staff in the Bridge section and an increase in applications, it may take two to three weeks to process a Chapter 6 Special permit. Please submit applications and supporting documents well in advance so the application can be placed into the queue for processing.

    Our busiest days of the week are typically Mondays and Fridays. We recommend that applications be submitted early in the day to avoid delays.

    How much does and oversize and/or overweight permit cost?

    Single Trip and Special Transport Permits issued will be assessed a surcharge equal to the amount of the permit fee pursuant to the passage of Senate Bill 09-108. A single trip permit costs $15*. If the vehicle or load is overweight add $5* per axle. For example a six-axle semi-truck/trailer with a load exceeding 80,000 pounds would cost $45.

    Here is a complete list of the permit fees:

    • Single Trip Oversize: $15* and total of $30
    • Single Trip OSOW: $15 plus $5 per axle* and a total of $30 plus $10 per axle
    • Single Trip Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible Quad Permit (Vehicle must have a quad-axle grouping): $30 plus $10 per axle
    • Single Trip Non-Interstate Two/Three Axle Overweight Divisible (power unit/trailer combo and the trailer must have at least two but not more than three axles): $15* per $10* per axle and a total of $30 plus $20 per axle
    • Annual Oversize Permit: $250
    • Annual Oversize/Overweight: $400
    • Annual Overweight Only: $400
    • Company Fleet Permit (CFP) base fee for first 10 vehicles: $3,000
    • Annual CFP (each vehicle over base): $300 and prorated per quarter
    • Special Permits: $125*
    • Superload Permits: $400* and a total of $800
    • Fleet Base Fee: $1500 plus $25 per vehicle
    • LVC Permit: $250
    • LVC Overweight Divisible (to be used with an LVC permit): $1,500 plus $25 per vehicle
    • Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible Annual (Vehicle must have a quad axle grouping): $500
    • Non-Interstate Overweight Divisible Fleet: $2,000 plus $35 per vehicle
    • Non-Interstate 2/3 Axle Overweight Divisible Annual (Tractor/Trailer combo, trailer must have two or three axles): $500
    • Non-Interstate Tandem/Triple Axle Overweight Divisible Six-month permit (Tractor/Trailer combo, trailer must have two or three axles): $250
    • Credit Card Fee: $4 per transaction per permit
    Does the Oversize/Overweight (OSOW) permit that CDOT issues also permit the vehicle/load to operate on city streets, county roads or non-hazmat routes if hauling placarded amounts of hazardous materials?

    No, it is the responsibility of the permittee to contact and obtain permission or the required permits from the respective cities and counties to use their roads. The OSOW issued by CDOT is limited to the designated highways listed on the permit.

    Regarding OSOW permitted loads that involve a placarded amount of hazardous materials, all statutes and regulations pertaining to hazardous materials routing must be followed.

    How can I apply and get a permit?

    You must obtain OSOW permits through COOPR, our online permitting system. You may access COOPR online by going to https://coopr.codot.gov. At this site, users are able to establish their own unique user accounts 24 hours a day seven days a week and submit permit applications once logged onto the system. 

    In many cases, depending upon the dimensions of the vehicle/load and the routes requested, your permit may be self-issued without intervention from a permit technician. You must purchase your permit prior to entry into the state or movement of an oversize/overweight load in Colorado. Call 303-757-9539 for more information.

    How can I pay for a permit?

    A credit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover only), or through an established escrow account. There is a $4 service charge per permit to use a credit card. If you plan to order several permits, you may choose to open up an escrow account. Users are able to establish and maintain their own escrow accounts through COOPR.

    What are the legal dimensions and maximum weight limit in Colorado?

    Colorado’s legal height limit is 14 foot 6 inches. All state highway structures with less than 14-foot, 6-inch vertical clearance may be found on the Vertical Clearances Map

    Maximum width is 8’6” and legal weight is 80,000 pounds combined gross vehicle weight (GVW) on Interstate and 85,000 pounds on Non-Interstate highways. There is no overall length requirement for truck tractor semitrailer combinations as long as the trailer does not exceed 57 feet 4 inches. A combination of vehicles coupled together cannot exceed four units and is limited to 70 feet in length. Call 303-757-9539 for routing questions.

    Extra-Legal permits must be obtained prior to entry into Colorado or prior to movement of the vehicle/load. Refer to the LVW For Your Information sheet for more information.

    Do pilot car operators in Colorado need to be certified?

    Yes, you will need to complete the pilot escort course. Pilot escorts must carry a minimum of $1 million of either Commercial Liability or Combined Single Limit insurance - policy must indicate the coverage is for the pilot escort operations. Your driving record must be clear of any conviction of drug or alcohol related offenses and has not had a single moving violation penalty assessment of six points or more. Colorado recognizes certifications from Arizona, Florida, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Utah, Washington and the Specialized Carriers and Riggers Association. Refer to the pilot escort information page.

    Can I travel at night with my extra-legal (OSOW permit)?

    Hours of Darkness - Sunset to sunrise.
    Hours of Daylight - Sunrise to sunset.


    Traveling During Hours of Darkness (Rules and Regulation Section 408.3)

    • If the extra-legal vehicle or load doesn't exceed 12 feet in width, it may travel at night with a flashing yellow light mounted to the front of the vehicle, and at least two but not more than three flashing yellow light on the extreme rear.
    • If the extra-legal vehicle or load exceeds 12 feet, but does not exceed 14 foot in width, it may travel at night with one pilot vehicle in the front on all two-lane highways, and one pilot escort vehicle in the rear on all four-lane highways. 
    • An Extra-legal vehicle or Load more than 14 feet in width is prohibited from travel during hours of darkness, unless authorized under a Chapter 6 special permit.
    • An extra-legal vehicle or Load that exceeds the legal limits for length or has an overhang:
      • A flashing yellow light shall be mounted to the front of the vehicle
    • The permittee shall attach at least one but not more than three yellow or red cluster lights to any overhang, as follows:
      • If the overhang is in the rear, red cluster lights shall be used
      • If the overhang is in the front, yellow cluster Lights shall be used